Manchester United 2-1 Arsenal


Manchester United took a giant step towards retaining their Premiership crown with a 2-1 victory over arch rivals Arsenal at Old Trafford on Sunday.


Arsenal created the majority of chances in the first half but were unable to put them away. The visitors took the lead three minutes into the second half through Emmanuel Adebayor but United quickly struck back through Cristiano Ronaldo before a curling free kick by Owen Hargreaves helped United collect three vital points from the match.


Needing to win the game in order to stay alive in the title race, Arsenal were quickly off the blocks, dominating the possession early in the game. Cesc Fabregas was in top form and very nearly put Arsenal in the lead but his shot flew inches wide of the post.


Some brilliant defending by Rio Ferdinand denied Adebayor who was played in by a superb cross by Eboue and Gilberto Silva's volleyed shot from the resultant corner was blocked by his own team mate. United came up with a response as some great work by Evra and Ronaldo put Wayne Rooney clear but the striker saw his shot saved brilliantly by Jens Lehmann.


Adebayor had the best chance of the half when Hleb raced past the United defense before squaring the ball for the Togo striker who was wasteful with his effort, hitting straight to Edwin Van der Sar. The 24 year old final scored in the 48th minute albeit in a controversial manner when it looked like he had used his hand to direct Robin van Persie's cross into the net.


However United were soon back on level terms with referee Howard Webb awarding the hosts a penalty when Gallas handled the ball inside the area and Cristiano Ronaldo made no mistake from the spot even though he was made to take his shot twice.


With 18 minutes left on the clock, United grabbed the winner when Evra was fouled on the edge of the area and Hargreaves curled in a delightful free kick with Lehmann comfortably beat as United ended Arsenal's challenge for the league title.

Tags: Manchester United, Premiership, Arsenal, Owen Hargreaves, Rio Ferdinand, Edwin Van der Sar, Cristiano Ronaldo


Watch Live Football Now